School Board

School Board Elections

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

7:30am to 7:00pm

Main Atrium

St. Croix Prep will hold its annual board election on Tuesday, May 19, 2020. Vacancies in the election include one parent member and two teacher members. These positions are three year terms.

Submission Deadline:

Thursday, April 9, 2020, 5PM

Submit Forms to:


The School Board provides governance to St. Croix Preparatory Academy.  The Board’s primary responsibilities are fiscal oversight, student achievement, and strategic direction.  The Board consists of parents, faculty, and community members voted into office by the St. Croix Prep community.  Members serve staggering three year terms with annual elections determining new membership.

Meeting Calendar

Meetings will start at 6:00pm

Orchestra Room 203 on the second floor.

  • July 23, 2019
  • August 20, 2019
  • September 17, 2019
  • October 26, 2019

Board Retreat

8:00 am – 2:00 pm.

Idea Link

Stillwater, MN 55082

321 Main St S #2

  • November 19, 2019
  • January 21, 2020
  • February 18, 2020
  • March 17, 2020
  • April 21, 2020
  • May 19, 2020
  • June 23, 2020

subscribe to calendar:

Governance Model

Since its inception, St. Croix Preparatory Academy has followed the Carver governance model.  This model is designed to empower boards of directors to fulfill their obligations of accountability for the organizations they govern.  The model enables the board to focus on the larger issues (e.g. fiscal accountability, student achievement, and strategic initiatives), delegate operational responsibility with clarity (e.g. hiring, curriculum, student discipline, programming, etc.), to oversee management’s job without meddling, and to rigorously evaluate the accomplishment of the organization.

The Board of St. Croix Prep demands accomplishment of purpose and only limits the staff’s means to those which do not violate the board’s understood standards of prudence and ethics.

Board Members

Shane Mueller

Board Chair and Parent

Bob Hajlo

Board Vice Chair and Parent

Jim Markoe

Community Member

Christoph Brown


Nicole Donnay


Deb Keyes


Jake Gottschalk


Kim Pleticha


Kristin Denzer


Advisory Board Members

Jon Gutierrez

Executive Director

Kelly Gutierrez

Chief Operating Officer

Joann Karetov

Lower School Principal

Wanda Renner

Middle School Principal

Andrew Sachariason

Upper School Principal


St. Croix Preparatory Academy is authorized by Friends of Education.

Friends of Education

200 East Lake Street

Wayzata, MN 55391

Emergency Child Care Form

St. Croix Prep is offering Emergency Child Care at no cost to families who qualify.

Emergency Meal Service Form

St. Croix Prep is offering Emergency Meal Service at no cost to families who qualify.

Emergency Technology Form

St. Croix Prep is offering Emergency Technology (chromebooks/home broadband) at no cost to families who qualify.